Tags

,

I changed the sheets and did laundry this morning. While moving my body and hands to do housework, many thoughts, ideas, as well as feelings, came and went in my mind-scape. As Scottish Philosopher David Hume says, “The mind is a kind of theatre, where several perceptions successively make their appearance; pass, repass, glide away, and mingle in an infinite variety of postures and situations.” And this, of course, is what William James called “The Stream of Consciousness.” I thought of writing down some of what I considered as good ideas, but I realized that I had forgotten them by the time I finished the work at hand. Then I wondered if this is the way many housewives’ and househusbands’ potentially “great” creative or even business ideas get lost in the process of house-work. Then again – I realize – I may be totally wrong. Some of the housewives and househusbands can retain their good ideas and work for their realization. I may have forgotten “good ideas” simply because I changed my mind: they were not that good after all. By the time I finished the housework I had become a slightly different person. William James wrote: “Experience is remolding us every moment and our mental reaction on every given thing is really a resultant of our experience of the whole world up to that date.”

