Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday for the first time in my life, I played golf in the rain primarily because we had a scheduled golf lesson early in the afternoon. After 45-min. lesson, my husband and I went onto the golf course. The rain was falling a little harder during the lesson, but once we were onto the course the rain became softer. (I have to admit that playing golf in the sun is better, but playing golf in soft rain is acceptable. After all, we have so many rainy days in the Pacific Northwest that we have to accept them as the norm in the fall and winter. One good thing about playing golf in the rain is that very few people are actually on the course.) Playing golf involves a lot of walking and trying to find one’s ball on the fairway, on the rough edges, at the feet of trees, etc. (I think using the golf cart minimizes the pleasure and benefits of playing golf.) So while on the course, I noticed that birds were singing louder. (The golf course is usually quiet due to the absence of white noise of our modern living.) I was not sure if my perception was accurate or not. So after coming back home I looked up on the Internet concerning how water/ rain affects the sound waves. True enough I found sources that addressed the phenomenon I experienced: Raindrops or water distort the sound waves as they disturb the light waves. In the rain, or immediately after rain with heavy dew remaining in the air, we might hear sounds, such as faraway-bird songs, more loudly and occasionally in changed forms.

“The physical world is entirely abstract and without actuality apart from its linkage to consciousness.” – Arthur Stanley Eddington The Nature of the Physical World

