Tags

,

The side mirrors of my car were tampered with yesterday morning or the night before. Yesterday, I noticed something was wrong with the side mirrors while driving my car. The views reflected on the mirrors looked so strange that the mirrors did not function as devices that help the driver navigate the road safely. Then, I realized that both of the side mirrors were bent, the left side inward with the right side outward. Though I immediately corrected the problem after stopping the car at a safe place. This fact made me feel rather bad. Who could do such a thing? What is the point for tampering somebody else’s car? This incident reminded me of the fact that my car had also suffered scratches (the kind that is made by a sharp object such as a key) on the passenger’s side door a few months ago. Because our driveway is shaded by rather tall bushes on the right side a malicious person could have done this without being observed from the street in front of the house, which is located on a court. In any case, this incident made me think about the dark side of humanity: some people can act viciously and violently in a totally unexpected manner.

“The shadow is a moral problem that challenges the whole ego-personality, for no one can become conscious of the shadow without considerable moral effort. To become conscious of it involves recognizing the dark aspects of the personality as present and real. This act is the essential condition for any kind of self-knowledge, and it therefore, as a rule, meets with considerable resistance. Indeed, self-knowledge as a psychotherapeutic measure frequently requires much painstaking work extending over a long period.”

Carl Jung “The Shadow”

