Tags

, ,

My husband and I have been trying to play golf as often as possible. It’s not easy to do this these days – mostly due to the wet and cold weather. However, we could play golf today, thanks to a break in the weather.

The golf course was practically empty partially because it was almost 2pm (these days the daylight lasts only for a short time until around 4pm) and partially because we had a wind storm 2 days ago. As we played, I noticed that both of us have been making incremental improvement in our plays. For instance, I can now hit drivers that avoid gully and ponds while my husband now hit straighter balls. And, we spend less time, trying to find our balls.  (Trying to find a ball is not necessarily unpleasant, by the way; it reminds me of mushroom-hunting picnics that my family enjoyed when I was very young.)  However, I had another of my “first” today: I lost a ball. (I usually do not lose my ball because I hit my ball straight though not far.) On the second hole, I hit the driver a little to the right. The ball seemed to hit a tree branch and fell on the ivy-covered ground. Both my husband and I tried to find my ball but couldn’t. Instead, we each found two balls that other people had lost hidden under the ivy leaves. I think it strange that we could not find my freshly lost ball, but found balls that seemed quite old. Is this the case of mental block that makes us unable to see things if our perception or memory does not support them? I mean we tend to see what we believe but we may be unable to see what is out there if it’s not supported by what we believe.      Probably the ball landed on a different spot after hitting another tree nearby.

The golf course was not “pristine” with scattered tree branches everywhere; nonetheless, it was invigorating to play golf for 9 holes.

