Tags

, , , , ,

My husband and I finally got around getting a Christmas tree today. We could not find a good tree after visiting two stores, a nursery and a food market. Yet, we still could find a beautiful noble fir at Home Depot, which made it easy for its customers to get trees. I know it’s a little late for getting a tree now, but simply we did not have enough time to do so, or didn’t get around doing so (our priorities also have changed over time). In a way, it seems as if we almost forgot how to prepare for Christmas.

When our children were very young we used to go to a Christmas-tree farm to get our tree: a “choose and cut your own tree” deal. It was a fun thing for a family to do. But our children’s preference changed over time; they wanted to do something more athletic and adventurous as they grew older. So, we stopped getting our own trees for the last 15 years or so – mostly because we developed a family custom of spending Christmas in Whistler, Canada. Both of my children as well as my husband are avid skiers and/or snowboarders (I only enjoy skiing on the beginners’ slopes); therefore, when we have precious time together we tend to do what our children most enjoy doing. But, since we plan to go to Japan this winter, we will celebrate Christmas in the Evergreen state, instead of Canada.

Getting a Christmas tree and decorating it made me feel that Christmas is almost here. This experience made me think it possible that we enjoy preparing for special occasions more than the special occasions themselves. But, of course, I may be wrong.

