Tags

, , ,

The other day after coming back from the grocery shopping I realized that I had forgotten to buy a jar of mint jelly. So after taking the purchased groceries into the house from the trunk of the car, I hurried back to my car. As I got into the car, I checked if I had one of my shopping bags (these days the stores do not supply free bags to their customers in order to minimize trash) on the passenger seat. Then, I hit the lower side of my left eye with the corner of the car door. I immediately went back to my house to place ice cube to my face that was hit by the top of the car door. I was a little scandalized by the ineptness of my movement. How could that happen!? Was I moving my body in such an inattentive manner that I did not realize there was a heavy metal object right in front my eye? I believe my vision worked like a camera lens which blurs the object very close to it when focusing on the object further away. My vision was obviously solely focused on the passenger seat so that I did not realize a dangerous obstacle that was close to me physically. Human eyes are supposedly more flexible and adaptable than camera lens. Did my vision faculty lose that adaptability? I do not remember that this sort of clumsy blunder happened before. But as Oliver Sacks often tells us our memory is sometimes unreliable (for instance, he wrote a story about his discovery that one’s memory is not always reliable based on his own fallacious memory about a childhood event that actually never happened to him).

It is always disappointing to realize the imperfections of human faculties. The bruise under my left eye is a sad evidence for such fallibility.

