Tags

, , ,

The other day I received a notice from Bank of America that my account had been considered “inactive” although deposits had been made to my account periodically. They say only the deposits that were done in person are considered as deposits. It seems that the bank wants to confiscate the depositors’ money at every opportunity it has. I find their behavior nearly criminal. The maleficent nature of many of the financial institutions and banks was exposed through the colossal financial debacle of 2008, but I did not expect the bank to be this aggressively desirous of the unsuspecting customers’ money. So I went to the local branch of BOFA to rectify the problem. I talked with a mid-position bank employee and signed a form and presumably she mailed it to the head-quarter in Delaware. I asked her to print out the current statement, but the statement printed out was dated on 3/31/15 without showing the date of the print-out. So I decided to visit the bank again to withdraw some cash to make sure that BOFA registered some in-person activity on my account. First, the bank teller did not see my account online because she conflated my first name and middle initial (I received this answer when I inquired about it later). Only when I produced the account number could I withdraw my money. The whole experience reminded me the importance of being watchful when dealing with bank employees. They can be grossly incompetent or criminally blasé.

About a dozen years ago, when I opened an account, the bank teller/worker typed in total strangers’ names in the columns where my children’s names should be as beneficiaries (should I pass away). When I pointed out this outrageous mistake she said nonchalantly that the computer did that automatically. Because I was not sure if she was outrageously incompetent or thick-skinned I did not make so much fuss about that, thinking that she was just incompetent. Yet now whenever I think about the characters of banks and their employees I think that it may be the workers at financial institutions, such as banks, that might be most likely to commit financial crimes, compared with workers at other institutions. (In a way, their situation may be like that of police officers; the police officers seem more likely to commit violent crimes because they are constantly exposed to violence.) Anyway, I should be more careful and watchful of the details of my financial situation when dealing with banks or bank-workers. They certainly do not deserve our blind trust.

