Tags

, ,

Last night my husband and I attended the final concert of our local symphonic orchestra’s 2014-15 season. As usual the concert was divided into two parts, Mozart’s Flute Concerto No.1 in G major with a guest flutist as the 1st part and Bruckner’s rarely performed Symphony No. 4 as its second part. This particular concert was appropriately subtitled as “Austrian Antithesis.” Mozart’s Flute Concerto was as airy and happy (mostly) as springtime. The flute (particularly the 1st movement) conjured up the high-spirited flitting and chirping of little birds on a sunny spring day. Meanwhile, the ponderous and sometimes repetitive structure of Bruckner’s symphony evoked internal struggles of a tormented soul. As far as I know, many attendants thought of Mozart too light and mechanical – as for me I loved the flute concerto precisely because of its lightness (a perfect musical piece for spring time!); in fact, many seemed to prefer Bruckner’s symphony, which lasted longer than 70 minutes – I think. In any case, I mostly appreciated the fact that our local symphony played Bruckner’s Symphony No.4 at all. I really admire their (or should I call the director/ conductor’s?) challenging spirit.

