Tags

, , ,

Yesterday afternoon my husband and I attended a Christian wedding of a couple who are in their 80s. (Needless to say, both of them looked in good health.) When I heard their ages I was rather surprised, probably due to my prejudice about the people in their 80s; after all, my mother passed away when she was in her early 80s. It was also a little confusing to see the bride walk down the aisle with her son and grandson (initially I thought her son was the groom; ultimately, certain people simply seem to look older their actual ages, and vice versa). The flower girl was her daughter. The minister read customary passages from the Bible, including a passage from Genesis, stating that Eve was created from Adam’s rib. I was relieved that the minister did not read the passage that indicated the origin of Eves’ labor pain and Adams’ need for labor. Then the minister talked about the way they first met: they first met at a nearby golf club; and they immediately saw something special in each other. As a golfer I assumed that the bride played golf; so I asked the bride if she played golf. I was a little taken back by her answer: She did not; it was her deceased husband who played golf. I was puzzled by her answer because the situation might have been construed as somewhat scandalous. But, probably the reality was far more banal than scandalous because all her family members who attended the ceremony seemed happy, so we were happy for the new couple too. Probably they love each other as companions. The wedding was short and pleasant. The singer-organist did a fine job singing pleasant songs. The people attending the wedding were, on the whole, older than the average wedding attendants. I suppose as the life expectancy of humans becomes longer the number of older folks’ weddings will become greater. Since I do not know any couple who got married after age 80, I am interested in knowing how their marriage will turn out to be for sociological reason. I hope such a curiosity is not offensive.

